Rules Tip of the Month

Recently, one of our golfers made a stroke at her ball which inadvertently struck another player's ball in the group, knocking it onto the green.  The question was raised as to whether the struck ball needed to be replaced or if it should be played as it lay on the green.  Rule 18 as shown below indicates the ball must be replaced. 

Rule 18. Ball at Rest Moved

18-5. By Another Ball

If a ball in play and at rest is moved by another ball in motion after a stroke, the moved ball must be replaced.

If you have any questions about a rule, please see me for clarification.


Effective January 1, 2019, there will be several significant USGA rules changes, all in an attempt to simplify the rules and to speed up play.  Stay tuned for more information and an overview of the changes.